


Dear Mr. Rigal: I was faced with this unusual problem recently: In second seat, holding ? 10-7-6-5, ? A-8-5-3, ? A-Q-8, ? 9-4, I passed and heard my left-hand opponent bid one heart and my partner jump to three hearts, asking for a stopper! I duly bid three no-trump, and we missed six clubs when partner had ? K-8, ? 6-4, ? K-7, ? A-K-Q-10-7-6-5. What went wrong?
Answer: Partner’s three hearts showed a solid minor suit, in principle with stoppers in the suits other than hearts, or else his bid would have been unsound. Looking at your hand, partner is likely to hold the diamond king and a top spade to go with seven clubs, in which case you can count 12 tricks. I would start with a cue bid of four hearts, intending to bid slam if partner cue-bids four spades. If not, I can bail out into five clubs.
Dear Mr. Rigal: What does it mean if, after I respond two no-trump to partner’s one-spade opening to show a game-forcing raise, partner jumps to four clubs?
Answer: Some play this as showing a void in clubs, but the most common agreement is natural, at least a 5-5 distribution with good suits. This makes it easier for responder to judge how the hands are fitting. On rare occasions, it can also offer an alternative strain for slam. It may be necessary to play a 5-5 club fit rather than the 5-4 spade fit, in order to profit from a discard on the fifth spade. With a weak five-card side suit, show your shortage first.
Dear Mr. Rigal: Would you open this hand, vulnerable against not in first position: ? 10-8-3, ? K-5-4-3, ? K-Q-J, ? K-6-4?
Answer: Count me out. The hand is flat, with no aces and no intermediates. Just because I have 12 points does not mean I have to open the bidding. The inflexible diamond honors are nothing to write home about, and opening one club may get my partner off to the wrong lead.
Dear Mr. Rigal: If I cue-bid a control and the next player doubles, does partner’s pass carry a special meaning?
Answer: It may not be standard, but I like to redouble with first-round control, pass with second, and cue-bid or revert to the trump suit with neither. Facing my pass, partner would redouble with first-round control.
Dear Mr. Rigal: If an opponent revokes, should I tell them to pick up their card, or should I call the director?
Answer: By the letter of the law, you ought to call the director, but in practice some players prefer not to take advantage of such things. As long as the revoke makes no difference, I see no harm in resolving this at the table. If you do, I would encourage you to have the same attitude toward everyone but not necessarily to expect the same in return! However, if the revoke comes into focus later in the play, you must call the director. Rewinding the play is a farcical affair. Let the director sort it out.
Contact Barry Rigal, email him at barryrigal@hotmail.com