Jeron Thompson
Thompson bags 3 gold as Indy wins season opener
T&T’s Jeron Thompson won three gold medals while Kael Yorke got one as the University of Indianapolis swimming & diving teams opened their 2022-23 season by hosting and beating the University of Cincinnati Ohio Bearcats, 161.5- 138.5, on Saturday in Indianapolis, USA.

The University of Indianapolis ‘A’ quartet led by Joao Silva, Diego Mas, Thompson, and Nicholas Quintero combined for the win in the 200- yard freestyle relay in one minute, 21.80 seconds with the University of Cincinnati-Ohio second in 1:23.73, with the University of Indianapolis ‘B’ led off by T&T’s Aqeel Joseph, and inclusive of Bartek Swiderski, Yorke and Austin Kehr taking bronze in 1:24.28.

The foursome of T&T’s Gabriel Bynoe, Sam Reiger, Brayden Cole, and Jackson Van Wanzeele of the University of Indianapolis ‘C’ ended in the fifth spot in 1:28.09.

Thompson then led off the 200-yard medley relay team which also featured Sebestyen Bohm, Yorke, and Mas for a winning time of 1:30.19 for University of Indianapolis ‘A’, to beat the University of Indianapolis ‘B’ (1:30.71), and the University of Cincinnati-Ohio (1:31.92) into second, and third, respectively, while Joseph was a member of the Indianapolis ‘C’ quartet with Andras Tiszai, Matt Bond, and Austin Kehr who placed fourth, in 1:34.42.

To complete his treble golden performance on the day, Thompson swam to individual gold in the 100-yard backstroke in 49.40 seconds, just ahead of Cincinnati’s Hunter Gubeno (50.43), and Swiderski (50.50) Yorke added bronze in the 100-yard butterfly in 50.46 seconds, to trail schoolmate Serge Agadzhanyan (49.25) and the University of Cincinnati Ohio’s Tammy Eaton who clocked 49.99 while Joseph was seventh best in 51.75.

Joseph copped bronze in the men’s 50-yard freestyle in 21.06 seconds to share the spot with Cincinnati’s Jet Li Fuhrmann to finish behind fellow Indy swimmers’, Diego Mas (20.47), and Joao Silva (20.58).

Thompson who had a very busy day of competition also just missed out on a medal in the 100-yard freestyle when he got to the wall in 46.77 seconds for the fourth spot, to finish behind Cincinnati’s Michael Balcerak (46.30), schoolmate Quintero (46.40) and Cincinnati’s Jet Li Fuhrmann (46.53), while Bynoe ended in the 11th spot in 49.21, and in the men’s 100-yard breaststroke Bynoe touched the wall in sixth in 59.91 seconds Yorke also had a fourth place swim as well in the 200-yard butterfly in one minute, 55.21 seconds beaten to the wall by the trio of Cincinnati’s Eaton (1:50.42), University of Indianapolis’ Agadzhanyan (1:50.75), and Cincinnati’s Mohamed Abdelbaky (1:53.03).

The T&T quartet and the Greyhounds next take on another Division One program next weekend when they make the short trek downtown to the IU Natatorium to take on the IUPUI Jaguars.